WTA Finals 2023: When is it, what is the draw, how to watch on TV and prize money?

WTA Finals 2023: When is it, where is it taking place and who is playing?

(left to right) Marketa Vondrousova, Jessica Pegula, Coco Gauff, Aryna Sabalenka, Iga Swiatek, Elena Rybakina, Ons Jabeur and Maria Sakkari pose with the trophy – Getty Images/Robert Prange

The season-ending WTA Finals gets underway on Sunday with world No 1 Aryna Sabalenka in action and aiming to finish the year, as she started it, with a title.

In January, Sabalenka won her maiden grand slam at the Australian Open then reached the semi-finals of the French Open and Wimbledon before losing to Coco Gauff in the US Open final.

The Bacalar Group features Sabalenka, Elena Rybakina, Jessica Pegula and Maria Sakkari while the Chetumal Group is led by Iga Swiatek with Coco Gauff, Ons Jabeur and Marketa Vondrousova alongside her.

“You’re not going to get any easy matches in WTA Finals,” Swiatek said. “Obviously I faced Coco and Marketa in Beijing and US Open, so the only player I didn’t play recently is Ons. I just have to focus on myself and get used to the conditions here and everything should be fine.”

“I’m coming in with a lot of confidence,” said Gauff, who also won her first major, in New York. “Last year, I didn’t do so well, so it’s nothing but up.”

When are the WTA Finals taking place?

The tournament begins on October 29 and ends with the final on November 5.

Where are the WTA Finals being held?

The tournament will take place in Cancun, Mexico.

Who is competing in the singles?

Karolina Muchova was the eighth player to qualify but withdrew due to a right wrist injury. She was replaced in the singles draw by first alternate Maria Sakkari.

  1. Aryna Sabalenka

  2. Iga Swiatek

  3. Coco Gauff

  4. Elena Rybakina

  5. Jessica Pegula

  6. Marketa Vondrousova

  7. Ons Jabeur

  8. Maria Sakkari

WTA Finals 2023: When is it, what is the draw, how to watch on TV and prize money?

The players pose for a photo ahead of the WTA Finals – Getty Images/Robert Prange

Sunday’s order of play (UK time unless stated)

Not Before 10pm
Elena Rybakina vs. Jessica Pegula

Not Before 11pm
Aryna Sabalenka vs. Maria Sakkari

Monday’s order of play (UK time unless stated)

Not Before 10pm
Iga Swiatek vs. Marketa Vondrousova

Not Before 11pm
Coco Gauff vs. Ons Jabeur

What are the WTA Finals singles groups?

Bacalar Group
1. Aryna Sabalenka
4. Elena Rybakina
5. Jessica Pegula
8. Maria Sakkari

Chetumal Group
2. Iga Swiatek
3. Coco Gauff
6. Ons Jabeur
7. Marketa Vondrousova

What is the format?

The tournament is played in a round-robin format with eight players split into two groups of four. The top two from each group will advance to the semi-finals with the player finishing first from each group facing the second-placed finisher from the other.

How to watch the WTA Finals on TV in the UK

Amazon Prime Video will show the tournament this year with coverage starting at 9.55pm.

How to watch the WTA Finals on TV in the US

The US broadcasting rights to show the tournament this year belong to Tennis Channel with coverage starting at 3.30pm (ET).

What is the WTA Finals prize money?

The total WTA Finals prize pool is £7,423,550. Players are awarded a set amount of points/prize money for playing each match, plus additional points and prize money for each win. If a player goes unbeaten and wins the title, they can win £2,494,254.

Which British players were involved?

No British players are competing in the singles or doubles.

Who is the defending champion?

France’s Caroline Garcia won the season-ending event last year. She beat Aryna Sabalenka in the final, 7-6 (4), 6-4, to become the second French woman to win after Amelie Mauresmo in 2005.

Broaden your horizons with award-winning British journalism. Try The Telegraph free for 1 month, then enjoy 1 year for just $9 with our US-exclusive offer.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top